Seychelles comprises of 115 islands occupying a land area of 455 km2 and an Exclusive Economic Zone of 1.4 million km2, extends from between 4 and 10 degrees south of the equator and lies between 480 km and 1,600 km from the east coast of Africa in the western Indian Ocean.

It represents an archipelago of timeless beauty, tranquility and harmony famous for its world beating beaches and for its great diversity from lush forests down to the warm azure ocean. 41 of its inner islands constitute the oldest oceanic granite islands on earth while 74 islands form the 5 groups of low-lying coral atolls and reef islets which are the Outer Islands.

The inner islands are mostly granitic, cluster mainly around the island of Mahe, Praslin and La Digue forming the cultural and economic hub of Seychelles, as well as centre of its tourism industry and majority of Seychelles accommodation facilities as well as home to almost the entire population of the archipelago. The international airport and the capital Victoria is located in Mahe